Creating and editing shortcuts is permitted to everyone, even anonymous users. However, in some cases, the edit must be approved by a moderator. A history of edits is kept for every shortcut (revisioning).
Creating a new shortcut
|Adding to namespace||Condition||Example||Allowed without approval|
|user namespace||by its user||User jorges creates a shortcut in namespace jorges.||✔|
|planet namespace o||Keyword is not used yet in namespace o.||Creating a shortcut in namespace o with keyword
|in a site namespace (= not a user namespace)||Keyword is not yet used in a site namespace.||Creating shortcut in namespace de with keyword
If one of the conditions is not fulfilled, the new revision remains unapproved until a moderator approves it.
Editing an existing shortcut
An approval is needed if the keyword, URL or namespace were changed.
|Edit changing the field||Allowed without approval|
|all other fields||✔|
Thus, editing the title, adding a tag or an example or extending the description can be done without a moderator's approval.
Sighting unapproved revisions
While being unapproved, the shortcut can be called but users will see a warning message on the first time calling. They can then sight the revision for themselves (saved in a session), meaning that on further calls, no warning message will appear for them.